Connect with us


FIFA World Cup 2022 Schedule



The FIFA 2022 World Cup is set to kick off on 20th November 2022. In what is deemed one of the most prestigious tournaments in football, 32 teams that have successfully gone through the qualifying stages are divided into eight groups to start the competition.

The World Cup is where stars are born, and beyond a reasonable doubt, it’s where players become legends. It’s where a player can become his country’s hero or villain. Dubbed the first world cup hosted by an Arab country, we look at the World Cup schedule, and injury updates as thirty-two countries head to Qatar. Follow Half A Goal for more updated World Cup news and football news.

World Cup Groups

  • Group A: Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal, Netherlands
  • Group B: England, Iran, USA, Wales
  • Group C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland
  • Group D: France, Australia, Denmark, Tunisia
  • Group E: Spain, Costa Rica, Germany, Japan
  • Group F: Belgium, Canada, Morocco, Croatia
  • Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon
  • Group H: Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay, South Korea


The World Cup Kicks off with the group stage. Here, 32 teams have been divided into eight groups of four countries. Each country plays the other three members of the group twice to conclude the group stage.

Two Countries that finish with the highest points in the group stage qualify for the round of 16. The Schedule for the group stage has already been published, and here is how the teams face up.

November 20

Group A: Qatar vs Ecuador 

November 21

Group A: Senegal vs Netherlands 

Group B: England vs Iran 

                USA vs Wales 

November 22

Group C: Argentina vs Saudi Arabia

                Mexico vs Poland 

Group D: France vs Australia 

                Denmark vs Tunisia 

November 23

Group F: Belgium vs Canada 

                Morocco vs Croatia 

Group E: Germany vs Japan 

                Spain vs Costa Rica 

November 24

Group G: Switzerland vs Cameroon

                Brazil vs Serbia 

Group H: Uruguay vs South Korea 

                Portugal vs Ghana

November 25

Group A: Qatar vs Senegal 

               Netherlands vs Ecuador 

Group B: England vs USA

               Wales vs Iran 

November 26

Group C: Poland vs Saudi Arabia 

                Argentina vs Mexico 

Group D: Tunisia vs Australia 

                France vs Denmark

November 27

Group E: Japan vs Costa Rica

                Spain vs Germany 

Group F: Belgium vs Morocco

               Croatia vs Canada 

November 28

Group G: Cameroon vs Serbia 

                South Korea vs Ghana 

Group H: Brazil vs Switzerland 

                Portugal vs Uruguay 

November 29

Group A: Netherlands vs Qatar

              Ecuador vs Senegal 

Group B: Wales vs England 

                Iran vs USA 

November 30

Group D: Australia vs Denmark 

                Tunisia vs France 

Group C: Poland vs Argentina 

               Saudi Arabia vs Mexico 

December 1

Group F: Croatia vs Belgium 

               Canada vs Morocco 

Group E: Costa Rica vs Germany 

               Japan vs Spain

December 2

Group G: South Korea vs Portugal 

                Ghana vs Uruguay 

Group H: Serbia vs Switzerland 

               Cameroon vs Brazil 

Venue And Kick-Off Time

Al Bayt Stadium, Khalifa International Stadium, Al Thumama Stadium, Ahmad Bin Ali Stadium, Lusail Stadium, Ras Abu Aboud Stadium, Education City Stadium, and Al Janoub Stadium are the eight stadiums where the group games will be played. Now specific stadiums are allocated to particular groups in the following manner;

  • Stadiums in Groups A, B, E, and F will play in Al Bayt, Khalifa International, Al Thumama, and Ahmad bin Ali.
  • Stadiums in Groups C, D, G, and H will play in Al Janoub Stadium, Education City Stadium, and Stadium 974.

The first two rounds of the group stage take off at 13:00, 16:00, 19:00, and 22:00, and the final round and knockout stage matches simultaneously at 18:00 and 22:00. All times are local, Atlantic Standard Time (AST) (Coordinated Universal Time UTC)+4).

Important Players Set To Miss The World Cup

  1. Georginio Wijnaldum (Netherlands): 

Georginio Wijnaldum, a Dutch midfielder for Roma, will not play in this year’s World Cup after he fractured the tibia in his right leg. He isn’t allowed to partake in any intense activity because of the severity of his injury. 

  1. Timo Werner (Germany) 

RB Leipzig forward Timo Werner will miss the 2022 FIFA World Cup owing to an ankle injury. In Leipzig’s final UEFA Champions League group match, Werner suffered an injury. According to a statement from the club, examinations revealed that he had unfortunately damaged the syndesmosis ligament in his left ankle, putting him out for the remainder of 2022.

  • N’golo Kante & Paul Pogba (France)

The defending champion France is devastated by the news that they will be without their key players in midfield in the 2022 World Cup. Chelsea’s French midfielder Kante was ruled out of the Qatar 2022 World Cup tournament after Chelsea said in October that he would require surgery to repair a hamstring injury and would likely miss four months of action.

Due to a knee injury, Paul Pogba of Juventus, who played with N’Golo Kante in midfield during France’s 2018 world cup run, will not represent his country in Qatar. Months after his comeback from Manchester United, Pogba underwent knee surgery in September. Pogba suffered a setback while rehabilitating an existing knee injury, ultimately preventing him from competing in the world cup.

The World Cup was scheduled for this year, unusually, due to the weather in Qatar. Domestic football competitions have to go on a break to accommodate a winter World Cup. The schedule above covers the group stage where participants are confirmed, and it will proceed as stated. Despite key injuries, we are in for an exciting tournament with nerve-wracking moments and lots of emotions.