best football player fifa luka modric

The Best Football Players in the Last 10 Years, According to FIFA

In the last ten years, FIFA awarded the best names in the world of men and women’s football.

Best FIFA Men’s Player

  • 2019 – Lionel Messi
  • 2018 – Luka Modric
  • 2017 – Cristiano Ronaldo
  • 2016  – Cristiano Ronaldo
  • 2015 – Lionel Messi
  • 2014 – Cristiano Ronaldo
  • 2013 – Cristiano Ronaldo
  • 2012 – Lionel Messi
  • 2011 – Lionel Messi
  • 2010 – Lionel Messi

Messi and Ronaldo dominate FIFA Men’s Player awards.  This should not come as a surprise, though, because these two big names composed one of the greatest rivalries in football history, if not the most prominent rivalry.

Messi has six Ballon d’Or awards while Ronaldo has five; Messi holds the record for the most Ballon d’Ors. Messi also won his first Ballon d’Or when he was only 22 years old as well as the FIFA World Player of the Year in 2009. In 2014, he earned his first Golden Ball.

Ronaldo received his first Ballon d’Or and FIFA World Player of the Year when he was 23 years old.

Last year’s Best Men’s Player awardee, Modric, is a breath of fresh air. Modric played for Dinamo Zagreb, a Croatian football club. Right now, he was with Real Madrid.

Modric won the player of the year award for at least five times. While he won his Golden Foot award in 2019, his 2018 is full of accolades also. Aside from winning Best FIFA’s Men’s Player award, he also earned his first Ballon d’Or.

In addition, Modric was 2018 World Soccer Player of the Year, World’s Best Playmaker (IFFHS), Athlete of the Year (AIPS), and Midfielder of the Year (ESPN). He won the ESPN award for three consecutive years.

Best FIFA Women’s Player 

  • 2019 – Megan Rapinoe
  • 2018 – Marta 
  • 2017 – Lieke Martens
  • 2016 – Carli Lloyd
  • 2015 – Carli Lloyd
  • 2014 – Nadine Keßler
  • 2013 – Nadine Angerer
  • 2012 – Abby Wambach
  • 2011 – Homare Sawa
  • 2010 – Marta

The women’s player awards are more heterogeneous than their men’s player awards counterpart. Two names won the award twice in the last ten years, however, and they are Marta and Lloyd.

Known as “Pele in skirts,” Marta holds the record for the most goals scored at World Cup tournaments. FIFA named her as the World Player of the Year from 2006 to 2010. She was also a Golden Ball and Golden Shoe awardee, both of which she received in the same year (2007).

Sports Illustrated her ranked as the #7 in its Top 20 Female Athletes of the Decade (2000-2009). 

Lloyd, on the other hand, won two Olympic gold medals. She was also awarded the FIFA Player of the Year twice, for two consecutive years (2015 and 2016). In 2015, she was the captain of the US soccer team. 

Lloyd was the first woman soccer player to score three goals during the World Cup final, scoring goals in the first 16 minutes of the game. Because of this, she was awarded the Golden Ball.

In 2015, Lloyd was nominated in Sports Illustrated’s Sportsman of the Year. She did not win the award, but she won the Women’s Sports Foundation’s Sportswoman of the Year Team Sport award.

In 2016, she was also nominated as the Best Championship Performance from the ESPY award.

Featured Image Source

Who do you think will win the 2020 FIFA Best Players Awards? Let us know.

3 Most Skillful Footballers Doing What They Do Best

A football player needs to master at least four skill sets: technique, game intelligence, physical fitness, and proper mindset. 

How could a player possibly control and dribble the ball without any spatial awareness or tactical knowledge that another player could snatch it away in a second? And how would he do the trick if he lacks balance and coordination? If a player is not coachable at all, how can he contribute to the club?

In the world of football, the fans support the clubs that illustrate quality football. The players display some of the most breathtaking and memorable plays.

Some skills tricks are even named after the player who invented it.

Here are some of the best game-plays in football history.

Maradona turn

Invented by Diego Maradona, the specialised dribbling turn is now a classic. It is also considered an attacking move used in escaping an impending tackle from a defender. With that said, the opportunities for using the Maradona turn are less.

The dominant foot is placed on top in a grabbing motion. The player would stop suddenly to redirect the ball using the non-dominant foot.

Throughout the years, another proponent of the trick emerged—Zinedine Zidane. This time, Zidane uses his instep instead of the sole to drag the ball back to its position. He does this while running in full speed.

Cruyff turn

Named after Johan Cruyff, a Dutch player, the Cruyff turn is one of the most challenging plays to execute. However, it allows the player to change both the defence and pace of the game.

During the 1974 Word Cup, Cruyff was about to make a goal, but Jan Olsson was blocking him. The move involved drawing back the right foot, feinting the pass back, drawing the foot back behind the standing left leg, turning at the hip to make a 180-degree turn. This allowed the player to shift the weight to the other foot and complete the turn.

The freshest display of the Cruyff turn was at the Women’s World Cup. Lieke Martens of the Netherlands did the symbolic turn.

Ronaldinho Gaucho snake

Also called Elastico or flip-flap, the snake move is unique. The snake is a dribbling move, although it is also used as a feint. Only a few football players can do it such as Ronaldinho considering how hard to pull it off.

It was called the snake because of the in-out feet movement involved. The outside of the dominant foot is used in pushing the ball towards the offensive player’s dominant side. The feint leads the defensive player to think that he will move it to another direction but not really. It’s because the dominant foot will have the control of the ball in an instant pushing it to the non-dominant side. 

Roberto Rivellino and Zidane are the other players who have performed the snake throughout their careers. Rivellino even claimed that while Sergio Echigo, a Japanese-Brazilian player, has invented it, he was the one who perfected the snake.

In Africa, the snake was simply called ‘The Gaucho,’ after the player who boldly utilised it over and over during a game. 


Featured Image Source


Love what you read? Subscribe now for more football features!