best football player fifa luka modric

The Best Football Players in the Last 10 Years, According to FIFA

In the last ten years, FIFA awarded the best names in the world of men and women’s football.

Best FIFA Men’s Player

  • 2019 – Lionel Messi
  • 2018 – Luka Modric
  • 2017 – Cristiano Ronaldo
  • 2016  – Cristiano Ronaldo
  • 2015 – Lionel Messi
  • 2014 – Cristiano Ronaldo
  • 2013 – Cristiano Ronaldo
  • 2012 – Lionel Messi
  • 2011 – Lionel Messi
  • 2010 – Lionel Messi

Messi and Ronaldo dominate FIFA Men’s Player awards.  This should not come as a surprise, though, because these two big names composed one of the greatest rivalries in football history, if not the most prominent rivalry.

Messi has six Ballon d’Or awards while Ronaldo has five; Messi holds the record for the most Ballon d’Ors. Messi also won his first Ballon d’Or when he was only 22 years old as well as the FIFA World Player of the Year in 2009. In 2014, he earned his first Golden Ball.

Ronaldo received his first Ballon d’Or and FIFA World Player of the Year when he was 23 years old.

Last year’s Best Men’s Player awardee, Modric, is a breath of fresh air. Modric played for Dinamo Zagreb, a Croatian football club. Right now, he was with Real Madrid.

Modric won the player of the year award for at least five times. While he won his Golden Foot award in 2019, his 2018 is full of accolades also. Aside from winning Best FIFA’s Men’s Player award, he also earned his first Ballon d’Or.

In addition, Modric was 2018 World Soccer Player of the Year, World’s Best Playmaker (IFFHS), Athlete of the Year (AIPS), and Midfielder of the Year (ESPN). He won the ESPN award for three consecutive years.

Best FIFA Women’s Player 

  • 2019 – Megan Rapinoe
  • 2018 – Marta 
  • 2017 – Lieke Martens
  • 2016 – Carli Lloyd
  • 2015 – Carli Lloyd
  • 2014 – Nadine Keßler
  • 2013 – Nadine Angerer
  • 2012 – Abby Wambach
  • 2011 – Homare Sawa
  • 2010 – Marta

The women’s player awards are more heterogeneous than their men’s player awards counterpart. Two names won the award twice in the last ten years, however, and they are Marta and Lloyd.

Known as “Pele in skirts,” Marta holds the record for the most goals scored at World Cup tournaments. FIFA named her as the World Player of the Year from 2006 to 2010. She was also a Golden Ball and Golden Shoe awardee, both of which she received in the same year (2007).

Sports Illustrated her ranked as the #7 in its Top 20 Female Athletes of the Decade (2000-2009). 

Lloyd, on the other hand, won two Olympic gold medals. She was also awarded the FIFA Player of the Year twice, for two consecutive years (2015 and 2016). In 2015, she was the captain of the US soccer team. 

Lloyd was the first woman soccer player to score three goals during the World Cup final, scoring goals in the first 16 minutes of the game. Because of this, she was awarded the Golden Ball.

In 2015, Lloyd was nominated in Sports Illustrated’s Sportsman of the Year. She did not win the award, but she won the Women’s Sports Foundation’s Sportswoman of the Year Team Sport award.

In 2016, she was also nominated as the Best Championship Performance from the ESPY award.

Featured Image Source

Who do you think will win the 2020 FIFA Best Players Awards? Let us know.

5 Greatest Women Soccer Players of All Time

Football and soccer are no longer male-dominated sports. Women now work at all levels of the mentioned sports—they are not just players.

But, of course, women soccer players are at the frontline. 

Here are the names of women’s soccer GOATs.

5) Nadine Angerer

Angerer is the goalkeeper of the German national team. She holds the record for being the first goalkee[er who won the FIFA Player of the Year award.

In 2007, the team the World Cup in 540 minutes after Angerer shut out the opponent. 

In 2013, the German also helped the team to win European championship titles. One goal slipped past her, but she was able to save to penalty kicks during the finals game against Norway.

An elite player even on her last match appearance, Angerer earned a spot in the World Cup all-star team in 2015.

4) Abby Wambach

Wambach is an all-time career international goals leading scorer with 184. She made sure to put her height—she stands at nearly 6 feet—to good use, in addition to her strength and aggression in the field.

These traits help her and her team win the 2004 Olympics gold medal and again in 2012. In that same year, she was named as the Player of the Year. 

The team’s 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup win was honoured with a Ticker tape parade, the first women’s sports team to ever do so.

3) Michelle Akers

Akers is famous for her superhuman abilities, making her the backbone of the US team from the mid-1980s to early 2000s. 

She scored a record of 10 goals in the 1991 World Cup, leading the US team to a victory. It was the inaugural FIFA game for women wherein Akers scored two goals against Norway’s one. 

She also led the team on its 1996 Olympics and 1999 World Cup wins. 

Akers had a total of 153 international games with 105 goals. 

2) Mia Hamm

Hamm was the face of women’s soccer during the 1990s. Her popularity, as well as that of the game, skyrocket in 1999 when the team won the Wolrd Cup. This alone changed the perspective of the people about soccer as a niche sport.

The American footballer is known for her on-field dominance in terms of ball control, speed, and vision. She holds the record with her 158 career internal goals (third) and 144 assists.

Hamm has two FIFA Player of the Year awards under her belt. She was named in Pele’s list of greatest living soccer/football players in 2004. The other woman on the list is Michele Akers, a fellow American.

1) Marta

Marta is one of the prominent names in the world of soccer. She raised the bar in terms of athleticism in the field. The Brazilian superstar won the FIFA Player of the Year award in five consecutive years. 

However, it was in 2007 that she changed the international soccer landscape with her seven World Cup goals. Unfortunately, she hasn’t won anything individually in either the World Cup or Olympics.

Marta proved her agility and endurance, however, when she won her sixth Best Player award from FIFA in 2018.

In 2019, she beat her own record to increase her total to 17 World Cup goals.


Featured Image Source


If you were to choose, who would be your women’s soccer GOAT? Let us know.