Connect with us


The 2023 Champions League Final Date and Place



Champions League Final Date and Place

The 68th season of Europe’s best club football tournament, the UEFA Champions League, will come to a close with the 2023 UEFA Champions League Final. The match will conclude the 2022–23 UEFA Champions League. It is also the 31st season since the competition was rebranded as the UEFA Champions League after formerly being known as the European Champion Clubs’ Cup. It will take place on June 10, 2023, at the Atatürk Olympic Stadium in Istanbul, Turkey. 

At the Champions League group stage draw, which took place on August 25, 2022, in Istanbul, it was revealed which team will compete in the UEFA Champions League Final in 2023. The kickoff time of the event has not yet been determined; but, if the past few years are any indicator, it is expected that the match will begin at 20:00 BST in the United Kingdom, 15:00 ET in the United States and Canada, and 05:00 AEST in Australia.

Atatürk Olympic Stadium 

The Atatürk Olympic stadium opened its doors in 2002 and currently serves as the home of the Turkish national team. It was constructed to assist Türkiye in its bid to host the 2008 Olympic Games. It is located in the Basaksehir neighborhood of the city, west of the Bosphorus. It has a capacity of more than 75,000 seats. Wembley Stadium in London, England, was supposed to be the host venue for the championship game at one point. However, because of the COVID-19 pandemic in Europe, the final was scheduled to take place in 2020. It had to be postponed and moved to a different location.

As a result, the scheduled hosts for subsequent finals had to be moved back by one year, and the Allianz Arena in Munich was responsible for hosting the final in 2023. The last was supposed to take place in Istanbul in 2021. But it had to be moved because of the pandemic in Turkey. It was moved to Istanbul in 2023 instead. This decision was made when the 2021 final had to be moved. The World Cup final in 2025 will now be held in Munich.

It will be the second major UEFA championship final at the Atatürk Olympic Stadium. The first one, the final of the UEFA Champions League in 2005, was won by Liverpool on penalties against AC Milan and took place at the same stadium. The ‘Miracle of Istanbul,’ in which the Reds won despite being behind 3-0 at halftime, is considered one of the most remarkable comebacks in the annals of European sporting history.

The Host Selection of Сhampions League

On February 22, 2019, UEFA announced the beginning of an open bidding process to pick the locations of the UEFA Champions League finals for the years 2022 and 2023. The deadline for associations to submit their expressions of interest was March 22, 2019, and the submission deadline for bid dossiers was July 1, 2019.

UEFA has not yet confirmed the associations competing for the 2021 final. However, people rumored that the German Football Association submitted a bid with the Allianz Arena in Munich if they were not selected to host the event.

The UEFA Executive Committee made the decision to hold the UEFA Champions League final at the Allianz Arena on September 24, 2019, during their meeting in Ljubljana, Slovenia. The venues for the UEFA Champions League finals in 2021 and 2023 were also decided during this meeting.

The UEFA Executive Committee announced on June 17, 2020, that due to the postponement and relocation of the 2020 final, Munich would instead host the 2023 final. This news came about on June 17, 2020. They would, however, play host to the last in 2023 if it were not for the fact that they would move it from Istanbul in 2021. Instead, Munich would play host to the final in 2025.

The UEFA Champions League trophy has a height of 73.5 centimeters and a mass of 7.5 kg. According to the man who came up with the idea, Jurg Stadelmann, “It may not be an artistic masterpiece, but everybody in football is keen to get their hands on it.” The 2022–23 season champions are also guaranteed a spot in the group stage of the UEFA Champions League for the 2023–24 season, provided they have not already qualified through their local league.